The biggest rivalries In Cricket Which Have Special Names

January 30, 2021

Rivalries In Cricket Which Have Special Names: The game of cricket always revolves around give and take policy. Especially, bilateral series are all about the rivalry between both the nations either on National terms or on the field. In order to continue it on a regular basis, all the cricketing boards came up with a few trophies, which gained huge popularity among the fans. Meanwhile, we figured out such trophies,.which have special names.

Border-Gavaskar Trophy:

It is the series, which will be played between India and Australia. It has always got a special attraction, as the fans would love to see the cracking action between both the nations. The series will be played twice for every four years, which brings huge crowd to the stadium.

The trophy is named after Sunil Gavaskar and Allan Border, who have been legendary cricketers for their respective countries.

The Pataudi Trophy:

9 Rivalries In Cricket Which Have Special Names
MAK Pataudi (credits –

It has been a brilliant cup overs the years for the fans. Whenever the Indian National Cricket Team locked horns with England Cricket Team, it has always been a scintillating contest in the middle for the fans. They have enjoyed the rivalry, as their are few sensational moments registered when the duo locked horns.

The trophy itself was designed and made by Jocelyn Burton and is named after the Pataudi cricketing family. It was first awarded in 2007 to commemorate the 75 years since the first Test match between the two sides.

Gandhi-Mandela Series:

Freedom series
Credits – Getty

Here comes yet another series that involve the Indian National Cricket Team. In this series, they lock horns with South African team, who always have been at their best during the series. Besides having it’s own name, the respective boards also named it as “Freedom Series”.